Hat tip to my friend Samwise for pointing this out:

This is pretty much the best Source Filmmaker short I’ve seen yet. A little bit of cute overload at times, but it’s lively, clever, and totally captures the spirit of TF2.

A lot of TF2 shorts are good, but marred by wooden animation. This stuff is professional-level, and goes beyond merely re-using Valve’s art assets– the little pyro/spy/medic have all been specially rigged and animated. As I’m doing this stuff for my game, I’m aware of how much work it is.

And technical prowess isn’t enough; you also have to have characters and a story. The interaction between the characters is really well done here– lots of little details like the wordless frustration of the Pyro when he wants to be in two places at once, or the fact that when the Guardian Pyro is put back at the end, the other Guardian pyro is animated and looks at him. Really amazing work.

