As I mentioned before, I’m scanning my Dad’s slide collection.  I wasn’t happy with the scans I was getting from the scanner I was using, so I got a new rather more expensive one.  It came today, and I’m much much happier.

Here’s an example of what I’m getting:

107 Japan

And here’s what it looked like before:

japan 107

Click to enlarge either, which you’ll have to do to really see the difference. The old scanner produced this weird blocky effect that make the pictures look terrible at any kind of magnification.

I like this particular slide, but it does seem a bit fuzzy.  I think that’s Dad’s fault though– other slides I’ve scanned are sharper.

The only downside is that it’s slower, but I can live with that. Plus my Dad is excited at the idea of seeing all the pictures again and helping me identify them.

