I love Fallout 3, so I’ve been eagerly awaiting Fallout: New Vegas.  (I’ll wait for Civ V till it’s on sale.)  I picked it up last night and spent a few hours in the Mojave, curiously spared nuclear if not social devastation.

Her name is Candy. You wanna make somethin' of it?

There’s a cute Western flavor to the game… when picking SPECIAL attributes, for instance, the description for Agilility reads: “When a fella’s in a gunfight and shoots the other guy six times before they can get off a shot, it’s cause that fella is agile.” 

The tutorial sequence doesn’t have the drama of Fallout 3; on the other hand it’s kind of nice not to be a vault dweller.  You are given a vault jumpsuit, but if you preordered the game (as I did by about six hours) you get some leather armor instead.

I never played the first Fallout games and probably never will; I’m a graphics snob and I like rich, immersive, high-polygon environments.  But I like the changes Obsidian has introduced so far, such as perks that are mixed pluses and minuses, a much more elaborate construction system, and special ammo types.  Oh, and you can decrease your initial SPECIAL stats in order to increase others.

I had trouble shooting things… my accuracy is not that great, but it’s not that bad, either, so I’m guessing it’s one of them Obsidian changes, especially as it improved if I used the sights and crouched.  I’m not too fond of game-induced accuracy problems; I have trouble enough hitting things.  But there’s always VATS.

More later.  I’ve got a minor battle to organize, and I think I need to level up first, so I have to find some geckos or something to tenderize.

